They’re invading!

Hello! It’s been a while since I’ve posted (Indie Pattern Month, I think), but I’ve definitely been keeping up with all of your lovely makes! My name’s Alicia and I normally blog over at forwhoitsfor. I didn’t think I’d be able to participate in this challenge, but the planets aligned (forgive the cheesy pun!) and I made something work!

The Sierra bra has been on my list since I saw that Madalynne was releasing it as a free pattern, but I wasn’t quite sure what I wanted to use for my wearable muslin. When I saw this month’s challenge (and some of the creative interpretations others had for the theme), this one clicked into place. From up close, don’t they kind of look like rows of alien spaceships invading over an ominous sky? (No? Just me, then? Okay.)

The bra was my main goal for this fabric, but if possible, I wanted to squeeze another garment out of it as well. I originally wanted a 1/2-circle skirt, but there wasn’t quite enough left for that. I ended up tracing the skirt of a RTW dress, and I think it turned out pretty well! It is a bit clingy, even with a slip, but I think it’ll be a good winter skirt once I can get that issue figured out.

If you want to see more pictures or read more about my fitting adjustments, please visit my blog!

One thought on “They’re invading!

Join the conversation! :)

