Work Wardrobe Collection

For this month’s challenge I worked my way through some projects contained in the BurdaStyle Wardrobe Essentials book. The first look is a wide yoke button-up blouse made in a poppy print I bought at Mood Fabrics. This fabric feels beautiful against my skin but was quite challenging to sew with. For a more straightforward sew, try this same blouse in a cotton poplin, in this variation made here:

white blouse 2

The skirt is the inverted pleat skirt, which I’ve made in a wool blend fabric that I picked up from Hancock Fabrics. All projects were cut in a size 36. The best part about this skirt is that I’ve lined it in hot pink.

skirt lining

The final project is a cowl neck dress.

cowl neck dress 2

This month’s challenge provided the motivation I needed to work through this book and to create some work looks. Never before have I sewn anything that I felt I could wear to work. I’m an attorney so suiting pieces are worn most days. I feel confident that I can mix these pieces into my already existing work wardrobe and can finally answer yes when someone asks me if I made my dress 🙂

For more on this and other projects, please visit my blog at See Carmen Sew.

4 thoughts on “Work Wardrobe Collection

  1. All those pieces look very professional – great work. I’ll be checking out your blog as i’m interested in that dress – i have the magazine it’s from and i’ve been thinking of making it up. Will be good to read another sewist’s thoughts on it!

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

