Take me out in style

img_0927tms_zps4pvm98r2The November challenge of the Monthly Stitch is sew two items for a Wardrobe Capsule.  A wardrobe capsule is all about having essential pieces. A basic collection of essential pieces of clothing that wouldn’t go out of fashion and could be updated with seasonal pieces to make it fit for fashion at that moment. The term ‘capsule wardrobe’ was coined by Susie Faux, owner of the West End boutique ‘Wardrobe’’ founded in 1973 in London. In this shop a woman could buy all the clothes to create a total look under one roof. 


Almost two years ago I decided not to buy RTW-clothes anymore. There are a couple of reasons for this decision. One of the main reason is the pore fit combined with not my style and the choice of fabric. When you make your clothes you’ve it all in your own hands. 

img_094320tms_zpscwnjjfqa

How does sewing your own clothes fits in the wardrobe capsule concept. One of the advises of the Wardrobe Capsule principle is to clear out your wardrobe when seasons are changing. No problem. The fun part is that the wholes in the wardrobe must be filled in. When The Monthly Stitch announced the subject for November I didn’t immediately had two pieces of clothes in my mind. On my list was making my own winter coat for a long time. In my stash was a beautiful black with a shade of brown wool fabric. The coat was finished almost two weeks ago.

img_0951tms_zpsvjhshgf9Now I had to make up my mind for the second piece of clothing. When I was looking for leftover fabrics to sew my gift for Sinterklaas I came across a piece of denim fabric and decided to make a new pair of jeans. Jeans are always a great choice that can be worn in all seasons. This black denim with grey could be combined with  all kind of pieces that are already in my wardrobe and the grey would also blend in well with the lining of the coat. The jeans was finished yesterday. For this photo I’m wearing under the coat the jeans with an earlier made sweater and scarf from my wardrobe to make this outfit complete. Conclusion: these two new pieces are a great addition to my wardrobe.

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Take me out in style

Join the conversation! :)

