Yo Ho Ho, and a Bottle of Rum

IMG_0754Fabric: Navy Blue Wool and silky turquoise lining
Pattern: Vogue 8884 View B
Year: Classic (this design dates back to the 1700’s)
Notions: Gold metallic buttons with a blue center
Accessories: Hand crocheted scarf (made by me)
Time to complete: a few weeks
First worn: January 20, 2016 on a walk around the neighborhood
Wear again? Definitely! It provides just the right amount of warmth
Total price: The fabric was thrifted, buttons, fusible interfacing, and thread came to around $20.ooIMG_0686It wasn’t my intention to make a “pea coat”, but after wearing it and doing a bit of research on the history of the pea coat, I was reminded of the one I used to have. The buttons on my new one add a little sparkle to the solid mass of blue and the turquoise lining would not be found in the traditional pea coat. So mine is a version on the classic pea coat that has suddenly brought back memories of being a teen in the 70’s.IMG_0715Pea coats were all the rage in the late 70’s. I loved mine, and not just because it was popular, but because of the fit, style, and the color.

IMG_0721I love my modern day wool coat because it looks so similar to the classic pea coat of long ago.IMG_0709This was a stash busting project and a pattern test. I used Vogue 8884, a pattern I’ve had for awhile, and a piece of navy blue wool and turquoise silky “something” that I bought at our local Senior Center Thrift Store. The store is a gem for people who love fabric. All fabric is $1.00 a yard, no matter what the content. Many cuts are vintage and rare. I’m always in heaven on a day when they have a great selection.IMG_0707I followed the directions to the letter, and found the construction logical and easy.  I underlined all of the wool pieces with Pro Weft Supreme Medium-weight Fusible Interfacing from FashionSewingSuppy.com. Wonderful product! The lining is a really a fun color with red, gold, and blue diamonds. I like the inside surprise!IMG_0688The one thing I did do that was different from the pattern, is fuse the hem of the coat and sleeves with Stitch Witchery before slipstitching the lining in place. I don’t think I would do it any other way. It holds the hem in place perfectly, without a bump or stitch to tell the tale.IMG_0694I have a machine set up only for making buttonholes and I can trust it to make perfect ones every time. It’s just an inexpensive mechanical machine, with the manual 1,2, and 3, dial that you turn to stitch back, forward, and bar-tack. Unfortunately, my computerized  Pfaff isn’t smart enough to do a decent one. The buttons I used have a large shank, so on the side of the coat with the decorative buttons, I made buttonhole, cut a tiny hole in the buttonhole, pushed the shank to the inside and tacked them tightly in place. Now they look like they are functional and not just dangling oddly on the outside of the coat.IMG_0761This is probably a bit of a cheat, but first I made the coat and then I found a drink to match. I was inspired by what the pea coat wearing sailors might drink on their long journeys across the sea…water, beer, and rum!

“SAILORS LIVED OFF IT!

Back in the day, long-haul pirates and the sailors of the British Royal Navy didn’t just use rum for recreation. To keep the crew hydrated, ships typically stored three types of liquid sustenance: water, beer, and rum. First, they’d drink the water. But because the clear stuff was the most rapid to go rancid, they could only rely on it for so long before turning to the beer—which has a longer shelf life. When the brews were all tapped out, they’d move on to the rum, which could sit in the ship’s bowels for the longest period of time without going bad. One obvious drawback: Rum tends to cause intoxication.” —Forbes

Peace, Love, and Understanding!

Visit my blog for more sewing adventures….zibergirl.com

7 thoughts on “Yo Ho Ho, and a Bottle of Rum

Join the conversation! :)

