Pattern Review: Simplicity’s Denim Dress

I won several patterns last year from the Simplicity Creative Group for my Sewing Studio Design so as part of the stash busting sew-a-thon I decided to use my Simplicity Pattern I made View D.

Simplicty 8014

Fabric Used:   I went with an off-white stretch denim from my stash.

Pattern Sizing:  I cut a size 16 which is larger than normal.  Although the denim has plenty of stretch I wanted a nice fit with plenty of room because of the button placement. I hate it when buttons look like they are about to fly off because your dress is too tight.

Did it look like the pattern when you were done:   Absolutely – In fact I was pleasantly surprised at how professionally made it looked…meaning like I could have purchased this at a store.

Were the instructions easy to follow:  Ummmm well ah sort of.  Because the patterns consists of several pieces that are used interchangeably to save paper (I guess) there are a lot of references pointing back to different views. For example, to make the collar on View D you have to reference the instructions on View A because it’s the same collar.  If you only had to do that once or twice….no big deal right?  But I found it somewhat confusing and had to keep reading and re-reading everything just to make sure I had it right.  And then there were the buttons.  I needed 10 buttons to line up perfectly…and it was no small feat!  Thanks to all by fellow Sewists who encouraged me to keep going and not toss this into the UFO pile

DSC_0772-1024x681

What did you particularly like or dislike:  I loved the way to main pieces came together. It was smooth sailing until I hit the collar but I think I did a good job with it.  I can Pop It….get it…:-)  And I love the topstitching.

Would you sew it again:  Yes – I intend to make another probably next month.

Would you recommend it:  Yes….Yes….Yes…

Thanks for reading and you’ll find more information on my blog:

Venita Elaine

http://www.SewVeStyle.com

 

5 thoughts on “Pattern Review: Simplicity’s Denim Dress

Join the conversation! :)

