milk bottle tee

Like so many others, I made a new year’s resolution to start following the challenges & contributing here. I interpreted January’s challenge as “make a garment based on your favorite beverage,” & my favorite beverage is milk. I love it, guys! It satisfies both your thirst & your hunger! I go through literally a gallon a day!

The first thought that came to me when I imagined a milk garment was a feminine white blouse with lots of pintucks or ruffles or ribbons, drawing in both the color of milk & my fantasies of what an Austrian milk maid might wear. Then I got real about the fact that I’m a stay-at-home mom of a toddler in Kansas & my life mostly involves cleaning up peanut butter & trying to make sure my kid doesn’t get salmonella from touching snakes at nature preschool. So, a black jersey tee was in the offing.

I used the Miz Mozelle dress pattern, by Jamie Christina. I’ve made it a few times with woven fabrics. I eliminated the keyhole, shortened the skirt into a peplum, & drafted bands for the neck & sleeve finishes. It was a real joy to sew as every seam & notch came together perfectly. I sewed it all with a zigzag on my regular machine & finished the seams on my serger.

img_9804

To bring in the milk element, I carefully zigzagged narrow red satin ribbon to the sleeve bands. I snagged a couple of tiny wooden bottles from my daughter’s dollhouse & painted them white with red caps. I tied little bows around the neck & then hand-stitched them very carefully to the sleeve band, drawing the threads through the knot in the bow to make it impossible to untie.

Ultimately, I have two problems with this garment: 1) I should have done a bit of an FBA because the waistline desperately wants to ride up & it’s really annoying. & 2) when my daughter saw the shirt, she exclaimed, “Those are Mommy’s milk jugs!” while pointing to an area that is very near my chest. So. That’s not the best.

You can read more at my blog!

 

6 thoughts on “milk bottle tee

Join the conversation! :)

