All the drinks for Zeena

Last night I went out on the town for my good friend Karen’s hen do (that’s a bachelorette party for any American readers out there). She’s a very stylish young lady with a fabulous wardrobe, so when I was invited to celebrate her impending nuptials, I knew I needed an equally fabulous dress for the occasion. I chose the By Hand London Zeena dress for its relaxed fit and simplicity – I wanted something that would be quick to make up but that would show off my lovely fabric, some gorgeous charcoal double gauze with gold circle motifs.

zeena-front

I made a few changes to the fit – I lengthened the skirt, rolled in the neckline and shaved an inch and a quarter off the back bodice. I also reduced the seam allowance on the sleeves to give my arms a bit more room. I fully lined it with some black cotton lawn too, reasoning that I’d need the extra warmth for a night out in central London in January.

zeena-back

I’m really pleased with the way it turned out – while there’s plenty of room at the waist, it looks good cinched in with a belt, and that extra space meant that I had room for all the cake we ate the hen do’s very ladylike afternoon tea. It stood up really well last night and I’m sure it’ll see more action as a party dress. I also think it’s completely suitable for work so plenty of opportunity for it to take me from the office to the bar. Winner!

So how does this fit in with Cheers for the New Year? Well. It was a hen do, so I knew this was going to be quite the night out, and I was right (we did get a party bus after all). It’s a peppermint tea dress. It’s a champagne dress. It’s also a white wine dress. It’s a rum and coke dress. And it might just be a caipirinha dress too… One thing’s for sure, if I was doing Dry January, I would have well and truly broken it last night.

If you’d like to know more about my Zeena dress, head on over to my blog, Stuff Jo has made. Cheers!

zeena-on-the-town

On the town, mid hen do.

7 thoughts on “All the drinks for Zeena

Join the conversation! :)

