My Vintage UFO: Jumping back in the job market

Well this monthly theme could not have been more perfect, since I am always starting projects that I don’t finish until months later.  I had the concept of making this while watching the final season of Mad Men, got the fabric last fall and cut out the pattern at the end of last year.  I had been chipping away at it throughout the month and then a few weeks ago I was laid off from my job.  During my reflection of this loss, I finished up the jumper.  I’m pretty pleased at how it came out.  You can read more details about this on my blog.

 

I used a vintage McCall’s pattern from 1969 and some royal blue corduroy.  It’s held together by one row of buttons (the other is decorative), plus some snaps and a hook & eye on the side.  Tacking the facing did require a lot of hand sewing, which I am not a fan of, but I do like shape and simplicity of the pattern.

Some of the inside facings…

I had been working on this for months, bit by bit, mostly evenings after work.  A dart here, some seam binding, until finally sewing the last stitch up last week.

I’m sad it took a job loss to finally get this thing completed, but now it’s on to bigger and better things.

 

5 thoughts on “My Vintage UFO: Jumping back in the job market

  1. I have a bunch of corduroy sitting in my stash I was given, and you’ve given me some good ideas, thanks! I love how sewing can be cathartic when unpleasantness occurs in our life. Your outfit looks great, Peggy-tastic!

    Like

  2. Sorry to hear about your loss! Hopefully this is just the beginning of bigger and better things for you career wise. Love the jumper! Cheers, Michele

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

