a whale and a bowl of petunias

I couldn’t resist the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy reference, even if the print isn’t precisely petunias. It’s kind of flowery and purple, so close enough, right? I did finish both of these projects in February, even if I’m late taking photos as usual. So here goes…

IMG_3584

I don’t have UFO projects very often. This one wasn’t so much unfinished as barely started, to be honest. It started life as a Vogue pattern (I forget which one) that I cut out a few years ago, realized I screwed up when cutting the front and therefore never got to sewing at all, and then eventually lost interest in. And then I had a baby, and knew the smaller sized fitted style of the shirt would unlikely not work on me for a long time. I still liked the print, though! So I took the largest pieces– the front panel and the two raglan sleeves– and some solid teal jersey that I’ve had sitting around for awhile, and hacked a new shirt using the Deer & Doe Plantain tee as a starting point.

IMG_3566

 

Overall, I’m happy with how it turned out! I’ve been needing some more casual shirts that double well for teaching lessons or running errands, while still being loose enough that I can nurse in them. And I’ve been craving color, as I always do as winter draws to a close. So this one fulfilled both rather well.

 

IMG_3493My other UFO project was one that I started back in December, but it got set aside while I was trying to get my fabric reorganized and tidied up to start the new year off. It’s not clothes, so I hope you don’t mind my sharing! Awhile back, I saw instructions on Pinterest for a denim whale, and thought it was cute. I cut it out of a falling-apart pair of jeans that I’d made, since non-stretch denim doesn’t work for me anymore, and got as far as that and embroidering on the eyes. It took me about two sittings to finish this off after that. I managed to do some scrapbusting too, since it’s mostly stuffed with the leftover polyester stretch lace from a shirt I made in December, and yarn left over from a sweater I knitted! They were free and unraveled from a thrift store sweater, respectively, so I didn’t mind. Stuffing is expensive anyway. So far, the baby isn’t super into it, but hopefully that will change as he gets a little older.

There’s a few more details for the shirt and the whale on my blog. Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “a whale and a bowl of petunias

Join the conversation! :)

