A UFO Complete

Hi, everyone!  I’m new to the Monthly Stitch and I am very excited to finally be over here writing a post for today.  It’s been awhile since I have had any completed sewing projects, and this month’s Monthly Stitch theme was just the push I needed to get my act together.  I’ve been wanting to participate in these monthly sewing challenges ever since last September, but have never gotten around to it until now.  In fact, I attempted to participate in January’s challenge.  I got as far as cutting out my skirt, sewing most of it up, then running out of time to finish it.  January’s project ended up getting finished with this one, so it actually fell under February’s UFO theme as well.  I am going to save that make for a different day cause today I am only talking about this dress: a McCalls 6887.  I have made this one before, but this time I made the version with the full back.

m6887

I have wanted to make version B ever since I finished my last one which you can find here.  This particular dress got cut out way back in December but I just hadn’t gotten around to sewing it up – a true UFO for sure.  Two weeks ago I attended a house warming party while wearing my first make of this pattern and ended up very anxious to have another version, so when I got home that night I pulled out my sewing stuff and got at it.  It didn’t take me long at all to complete it.

feb-ufo-4

I didn’t follow the directions as I was making this without the called for lining.  If you’ve been making dresses for awhile, it’s basically the same kind of sewing procedure: start with the bodice, then on to the skirt, put the two together, bind the arms and neck, then insert zipper and hem.  I used two inch bias cut strips from a contrasting fabric that I then folded in half and added for the facings.  This is pretty much how I do all of my facings these days.

feb-ufo-2

I tried to make the cap sleeves with this dress, but as is usually the case for me, I couldn’t get them to fit properly.  I may never have sleeves on any of my me-mades.  I guess this is fine because it just gives me more reason to make sure I keep a variety of sweaters and cardigans on hand.  Sweaters and cardigans being a couple of things that I really seem to not be able to get enough of these days.feb-ufo-5

Let me briefly talk about this fabric, it’s Riley Blake Novelty Dresses in yellow and I got it from fabric.com.  There were two color choices and since I don’t have much yellow in my wardrobe I went with it.  I was a little unsure how it would look as a dress, maybe a little too… what’s the word I am looking for?  Anyway, I wasn’t sure it would look okay as a dress.  I was wrong, at least I think so anyway.  I really like the way this came out, and I have somewhat of a desire to use this dress as an inspiration for many others to come.  I want to make a dress like each and every one of these pictured in my outfit!  Why not, right?

large_0382451

That is all I have to say about this one.  It has been a joy to finally participate in this challenge.  I am looking forward to many more Monthly Stitch projects to come.  I got a new pattern just yesterday for March’s challenge; I can’t wait to start.

You can find more of what I have made over on my blog, Rejoice for the Day, in the Made By Me section here.

8 thoughts on “A UFO Complete

  1. Wow, this dress is amazing! I’m in love with the print, I kind of want to make a dress just like the black polka dot one printed on the fabric!
    I actually have a McCall’s 6887 in my UFO pile, your beautiful dress has inspired me to dig it out and finally get it finished…

    Like

  2. Love the print..it is gorgeous. That style of dress and the print is totally my style so I am green with envy. Happy sewing…Cheers, Michele

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

