A UFO, print with a striped edge and no sleeves?

 

This is my first post on the Monthly Stitch. I have been following the sewing adventures of this site for a while now and enjoy seeing and reading about what fellow sewers get up too! I very recently had a UFO, so it seemed like the perfect time for me to join in! Although I am a few days past the deadline?

I usually finish garments as I make them, simply because I have some event or other that I want to wear them to, or if I take too long to make them, I start to bore myself! This particular top only had to wait a couple of weeks to be saved!!

In one of those searching the sale rail days I found a dress, liked the print and decided to team it with a striped rib edge. I like the odd mix of sportswear with knitwear that you see teamed together in certain high street stores!? And there are lots of sportswear type jackets and sweatshirts available a the vintage fairs now too! The t-shirt had been abandoned by my daughter and reclaimed by me! I can’t remember which thought came first, the rib, or the print or the sporting influence! Haha but certainly not a sporting influence for the sake of sport!

I knew there wasn’t going to be enough fabric for all the pattern pieces but I have, on occasion, managed to match the print and seam parts of the leftover fabric together. So I did this on the sleeves. This time it didn’t work!! The fabric was far too thick and bouncy making the supposedly invisible seams far too bulky and noticeable. You can see them in these photos. Failure! Oh no! I searched online to see if I could find another dress! No! Then a few weeks later I found another one. Time to remake the sleeves.

And these photos show the new and very much improved sleeve, longer in length because I now had enough fabric for this, and I made the cuff ribbing deeper too.

A sewing tip from this remake is that I when I want to finish off edges with ribbing, I use ribbed t-shirts or vests, they are a brilliant source of this type of fabric. Often the rib from a top is softer than you might want it to be, for example for the edge of a jacket. I interfaced half of the rib on this top because I was adding buttons and buttonholes. If you have a soft rib and need to make the rib edge feel even more substantial use elastic inside it!

 

I enjoy many different types of sewing, I cut patterns, I make sample garments and I love to refashion. If you would like to have a look at any of the other sewing I do, and tips I like to share have a look at my blog.

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “A UFO, print with a striped edge and no sleeves?

    • Hi. Yes you beat me here. I’m not very good at finding new groups to join!
      You’ll be walking along the road one day and suddenly the idea will pop into your head, and then we’ll see it here! Looking forward to it.

      Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation! :)

