Marshmallow velvet

My offering for #sewhotrightnow comes from two 2016 trends, and one that I think should always exist but that I can’t find any supporting evidence for!

  1. Velvet; soft, luxurious velvet.
  2. Marshmallow colours

I also believe that 1920s – 1930s fashion will always, always be #sewhotrightnow.

Poirot

She will not be denied!

 

I wanted to make a soft, slouchy cardi-coat to wear primarily with pants (because #pantsforever) but that would work both in casual and fancy contexts. I self-drafted a pattern and whipped this up in some ice blue upholstery velvet I bought second hand on a road-trip to Oamaru with my best guy.

IMG_8000

Quite, quite happy with the end result. I feel like I could be painting water-colours on the French Riviera in an episode of Poirot, or hanging out with Iris Apfel. I love the kimono-esque vibe and just how damn comfy it is.

IMG_8031

And it’s warm, #sewwarm. Therefore also good for the cooler days. Winner.

9 thoughts on “Marshmallow velvet

Join the conversation! :)

