sew hot sewing what nots

Sewing – it’s Sew Hot Right Now!

Which surely means that sewing-related fabric is also Sew Hot, yes?

We’d both seen the tape measure dresses made by Dolly Clackett – both the first and the second version. And inspired by their amazingness, we’d each purchased some of the same tape measure print fabric. It looks like we weren’t the only ones either – have a look at some of the other tape measure garments around the blog’o’sphere – proof that tape measures are indeed Sew Hot! [edit – and look here is someone else who has joined in on the craze too]

Whether they are or not, when we discovered via Instagram that we both had the same fabric, we decided that it only takes two to start a trend. And so, we present to you – two garments in tape measure fabric! Tape measures – they’re officially Sew Hot Right Now. 😉

With tape measure gloriousness in our sights, we each set about creating a garment. And two very different garments they were! Let’s have a look at what we got up to for this challenge….

The Tape Measure Skirt

I love wearing brightly coloured poplin skirts with plain coloured tees for my weekend wear.  This fabric definitely fit the bill so there was probably no doubt that I would make my tried and true simplicity 2226.  I bought just 1.5m on a quick trip to Goldhawk Rd when I was in London last year.  I was glad to find it as I had seen it at Sampeng Lane in Bangkok a couple of years before.  In a fit of fabric blindness and fatigue I didn’t buy it at that time and regretted it!

IMG_1464

I’ve made this skirt pattern quite a few times and decided it would be fun to modify the pockets to create pocket flaps held down by buttons.

IMG_1471

I love all the colours in this skirt, it had it’s first outing for day one of a  recent sewaway weekend.

Project summary

pattern: simplicity 2226

fabric: printed poplin (by way of goldhawk rd)

notions: 2 buttons and invisible zipper from stash

(I’ve written a bit more about it on my blog ;o)

 

The Tape Measure Dress

Believe it or not, before this challenge I’d never made a By Hand London pattern. Even though they have definitely been Sew Hot for quite some time! This seemed the perfect opportunity – pairing up a trend I’d missed with one we were creating. I decided that the Sophia dress would be well suited to the lines of the pink and yellow tape measure poplin, due to it’s angled armholes, Y-shaped darts, and godets.

I made the full-skirted variation of the Sophia pattern – a skirt with seven wide godets that flares out at the hip to create all sorts of swishy, twirling fun. With all the stripes and angles, I decided to leave the collar off this version (I have plans to make this again though, and will be adding the collar to a future iteration!).

This dress has already been worn out and about – to work, for a weekend trip up the coast, and for dinner and drinks out with friends. It turns out that bright pink and yellow tape measures are surprisingly versatile. 😉

Project summary

pattern: By Hand London Sophia dress

fabric: Printed poplin from Minerva crafts

notions: Invisible zipper, olive green poplin for bodice lining, Hug Snug for hem binding (all from stash)

(If you’d like to know more about my tape measure dress, there’s a post on my blog too.)

 

Happy sewing from Colette & Kat xox

 

One thought on “sew hot sewing what nots

Join the conversation! :)

