Florals are sew hot right now!

Hi, Jo from Making it Well here!

I had a hard time coming up with a trend, as I don’t follow trends at all. But then I saw a bunch of articles about florals and thought bingo!

Apparently florals are a trend that’s always in style. Well, I couldn’t agree more! 🙂

This dress is based off the Derby Dress by Christine Haynes. I saw Trees’ adorable squirrel print version of it, and fell in love! I decided to make my own pattern based off this as inspiration.

Neckline ruffle!
Neckline ruffle I say!

 

As usual, I leave all the nerdy sewing details in my original blog post and just keep it short and sweet here 🙂

 

 

I’m really happy with it overall, but UGH, the bias drooped SO MUCH at the sides. Totally my fault, because I didn’t bother levelling it before I added the ruffled tier at the bottom. The shame!!

This pic shows the dreaded bias droop the most. Argh my eyes!!!
It dropped more on one side than the other as well. Blah

Okay, since this is fitted at the waist, I put an invisible zip in the side seam so I could get it on. But it couldn’t go right to the top of the garment, as there are bound edges! So I started it a few centimetres below the underarm (sewing the seam up first). I’m very pleased as it looks neat! I have put in relatively few invisible zips so I still breathe a sigh of relief when they go in nicely.

I did want to try putting pockets in too, but I had reached my limit of patience with this fabric and garment.

Sneaky zip!
Open zip at side.

 

I’d like to make another in future and I’m sure it’ll be so much easier!! Maybe a solid would show the neckline ruffle off better…. what kind of fabric would you make this in??

Even better, link me a fabric in the comments, that would make my day 😀

6 thoughts on “Florals are sew hot right now!

  1. This is super cute! Whenever I see florals on a trend list I always think of the line from The Devil Wears Prada “Florals? For spring? Groundbreaking.” I always love florals, though.

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

