Blossoms on the Bike Path

Months back, when the theme was first announced I wondered, “Do I have anything, any project that would enthuse me for the floral theme?”

I sure do!
This here is the Shwin Lane Top in “specialty cotton” per Joann’s. I had two separate yards (remnants) that were officially 44″ wide with the floral design being closer to 40″ across. But I obviously had enough for this shirt!

As per The Monthly Stitch sub-theme, Flower Power, I have two floral fabrics, the 3D floral for the front, back and back yoke, and sleeves, and another white fabric for the inside yoke (so I wouldn’t be pressing two bumpy layers at once) and as bias binding for the neckline and hem.

2016-04-282b11-28-02

2016-04-282b10-41-39

The construction instructions are pretty simple, though there is one step that I could not make heads or tails of just by reading. Both times I made this top I had to play around with the pieces in order to figure out what the instructions were trying to convey.
On another note I need to make this top without bias tape hems because I think that the specialty cotton has more drape than the quilting cotton, which makes the hem flair out more than preferred.
I also ditched the button and button tabs for elastic in the sleeve hems, and left off the pocket.
Oh, regarding the title I had the photo shoot on a bridge that is part of the bike path.
2016-04-282b11-03-03

blurry!

More photos and slightly more info at my blog.

4 thoughts on “Blossoms on the Bike Path

Join the conversation! :)

