the power of flower

20160501_152644I was pretty excited about the theme this month– for once, I had the perfect combination in my stash that also lined up with a couple of other things I needed this month, specifically a solid pastel shirt!

Both of these pieces were from Seamwork Magazine– the same issue, in fact. The Astoria top is a lightweight acrylic sweater knit. This one came together pretty quickly, and fit nicely straight off of the pattern. The length threw me for a loop, since it’s a shorter length than I’m used to, so I might add some length if I make it again– unless I find more good sweater knits for layering over some dresses! (My skin can’t tolerate wool in any form, so this is a bigger challenge than you’d think!)

20160501_152843_LLSThe accompanying Bristol skirt is my floral piece. I don’t often wear straight up florals, but I like that this one is funky and abstract and so much more up my alley than the more cutesy ones. Would you believe that I bought this and the sweater knit separately, they’ve both been sitting in my stash for a couple of years, and it took me until just before this year to realize that they’re a perfect pair? I like that there’s a pocket, and the elastic waistband is perfect for my fluctuating weight (mostly due to the little guy here). I’ll admit I wasn’t a fan of the waistband construction, though, and would do it completely differently if/when I make this skirt again.

 

5 thoughts on “the power of flower

  1. What a perfect combination – it’s good when you get a “by accident” match like that! I know what you mean about the Astoria top, it looks great on you at that length, but I understand where you’re coming from.

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

