Circles and Adventure: May Inspiration

Monthly Stitch May Inspiration challenge. My inspirational item was this Celestial Beauty dress by sewfrancie which I picked in a fit of marathon enthusiasm having watched The Brighton Marathon and been fascinated by UK astronaut Tim Peake doing his marathon in space.

I have no desire to go into space myself  (quite frankly terrifying…) so decided to try and source some fabric with a spirit of adventure but a bit nearer to home and came up with this which I got from ebay

IMG_3994

 

I especially like the way the circle theme echoed the Celestial Beauty dress and decided to make an ‘adventure garment’ that I could cycle in. I decided to make the Frill Culottes from Happy Homemade :Sew chic book by Yoshiko Tsukiori. Now I have made some items from this book before so knew what to expect but was a bit flummoxed by the fact that the four pattern pieces required had NO markings on at all so when it said ‘sew the front yokes together at centre seam’ and the yoke was pretty much rectangular with no indication as to which seam might be the centre seam there was a bit of head scratching. I think I worked it out in the end but really didn’t like the frill element around the yoke when it was done. I unpicked it and just did a gather instead which I prefer. However I don’t really like the finished garment.

IMG_3998

I can’t put my finger on it but something isn’t quite right. Maybe a fixed waistband would help ? On the bright side they are great for riding a bike in without the ‘black lycra look’!

2 thoughts on “Circles and Adventure: May Inspiration

Join the conversation! :)

