Autumn Blues

My inspiration was this post from Juliet during IPM15. I too get the autumn blues and have to find things to wear during this time of the year.Here’s my version of the lovely blue merino dress she is sporting.

It’s always strange for me when I make dresses, as I’m such a separates girl. But the dress I made first thing this year for the Cheers to the New Year challenge has surprised me. So introducing my Autumn / Winter 2016 version.

IMG_8157

I whipped up this lovely dress using Butterick 3551, a 90s pattern I picked up for $1 in Wellington. It’s made from beautiful NZ Merino from The Fabric Store.

IMG_8136

I made a few adjustments: a dropped waist, rather  than a raised one; binding the neck rather than facing it; and no zip – please 90s pattern, overkill much?! Other than that, all pretty much standard.

IMG_8159

Except for one thing, I looked at the wrong view when purchasing the fabric and purchased the amount for the short dress rather than the long one! Oops. Some rather fussy cutting ensued and it now has the design feature of a much narrower front skirt panel than in the pattern. Winning.

IMG_8160

12 thoughts on “Autumn Blues

  1. Great colour and that fabric looks divine. Perfect work making the skirt panel narrower, I actually think it may have been a bit bulky if you hadn’t done that – totally winning! (And I love that necklace too by the way!)

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation! :)

