Watercolor Dress

My inspiration comes from fabric with a watercolor design. I love the splash of colors!

IMG_1819

Pattern? Why did you choose it? I used a Kay Unger Design for Vogue 1353. It’s a lined, sleeveless dress with front neckline pleats, scoop neckline, close-fitting bodice (slightly above waist), princess seams, pleated skirt, thread loops, and invisible back zipper. The hem is topstitched in place by hand. I chose it because I liked all of the fine details that make it more than just a quick sew, but a dress with extra features that are worth taking time to do.

V1353_aFullSizeRender-1

What fabric did you use? Why did you choose it? I used a printed cotton seersucker sent to me by the wonderful folks at White Tree Fabrics in Leicester, United Kingdom. I’m a proud member of the blogging team and enjoy sewing up sample garments using their unique collections of patterns and fabrics. This summery print is a lightweight orange, yellow, and black floral. If you want some the SKU is 436245-15.

IMG_1766Would you recommend the pattern? Would you change anything next time?  I love the fit and style of of this pattern. It turned out wonderfully. I’m already imagining how I could change it up, by gathering the skirt, and altering the neckline. I especially love how the lining is attached at the top of the shoulders and how the skirt lining is attached to the bodice lining and hangs freely like a slip. It feels delightful to wear.IMG_1778Any interesting details? There are quite a few interesting details that you would never find in RTW garments. The  hem has a separate lining, that is hand-stitched with two strands of embroidery thread. This took over an hour to do. I knew it was going to look fantastic so I didn’t mind spending the time on it. It also has crocheted belt loops to hold a purchased belt in place.IMG_1761

What do you think of your finished garment? I’m very pleased with the fit and style. I love all of the unique details that make it so special. I’ve since purchased a narrow patten-leather belt to highlight the black details of the dress for next time.IMG_1784IMG_1812.jpgFirst worn? I wore it for a get together with my two youngest daughters on Mother’s Day. We stayed at the Flamingo Inn in Santa Rosa. My youngest, humored me by taking these pictures while we were there.

FullSizeRender

 

See more of my sewing adventures at Zibergirl.com

 

6 thoughts on “Watercolor Dress

  1. I have this pattern but haven’t gotten the courage to sew it up yet. After seeing yours though, I have to give it a go. This is beautiful! The material you chose is perfect as well. Seersucker, I need to add some of that to my stash. 🙂

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

