New to me, Schnittchen.

Untitled

I found this beautiful fabric at Drapers Fabrics and knew it was going to be a cardigan.  I am unsure of the fiber content, but it has a textured front with a ribbed back and a cottony feel.  Its lack of stretch made it unsuitable for most of my cardigan patterns, but then I came across a “new to me” concept and pattern, The Coatagin!

Untitled

The pattern I used is the Silvia Coatigan by Schnittchen patterns.  I had not heard of Schnittchen until I saw lovely coatigans popping up on Instagram.  Schnittchen has some great patterns (some with extended plus sizes, bonus!) and are very reasonably priced.

The pattern is very easy compared to other coats I’ve made as it has very few pattern pieces and simple details.  It is over-sized, has lovely big pockets and a snugly lapel.  Definitely a great sew for a beginner or if you are looking for some instant gratification.

Untitled

The pattern instructions are nicely written but lack diagrams.  The instructions promise a tutorial on their website, but I could not find it.  I also found the method of bagging out the coat lining a bit funky, so I did it my own way.  I suggest checking out the Clare coat sew-along if you are new to coat making.

Untitled

I used some nice slippery material I found at Nick’s Fabrics for the lining and pockets.

I am slightly bigger than the biggest size’s measurements, but this style is over-sized and I found that it fits me nicely (if a little too big).  There were no finished measurements, so I took a risk and it payed off.

A button on the front is optional, but I’m thinking about adding one for those days when its really windy and cold, although wrapping the fronts around you and snuggling is very nice too!

Overall, I love this coat.  I enjoyed making it and I feel pretty cool when wearing it.  If I found the right fabric I would make another and I am keen to try more of Schnittchen’s patterns.

6 thoughts on “New to me, Schnittchen.

Join the conversation! :)

