Named Clothing Kanerva: New to me

 

I’ve been wanting to try the Kanerva Blouse by Named Clothing for a long time. It took Indie Pattern Month and the New to Me challenge to push me to get on with it!

And I’m so glad I did. The design details of this blouse are truly unique: the button up back, the pleated waist detail, and the split in back peplum. I love the way it’s gently fitted with double darts and easy tapering.

IMG_2289

To accentuate the lovely design details of this top, I used two fabrics, an embroidered cotton and handkerchief linen. I also added to pockets to the front and sleeve band detailing just for fun!

IMG_2277

I’m always a bit nervous when I try a pattern from a company that’s new to me, but the instructions for this pattern were so easy to follow. I expected the pleated waist would be tricky but it’s just folded over and stitched in place. The button placket in the back is easy too, and I used vintage buttons that are fairly flat so that the top would be comfortable when leaning against a hard backed chair.From cut to finish it only took about four hours, which is perfect for a weekend afternoon.

IMG_2279

I think I must be the last person in the sewing community to sew this blouse, but I’m so glad I did! The style is so unusual and I plan on trying other patterns from Named Clothing.

IMG_2367

Even though I sew Big Four patterns alot, I love Indie Pattern Month and am so looking forward to seeing everyone’s makes. If you’d like to see more of mine, hop on over to my blog, Ellegeemakes.com. Happy sewing!

12 thoughts on “Named Clothing Kanerva: New to me

  1. Very cool! Your top looks perfect for breezy summer nights. I love the details you added. I just got my pattern swap paper pattern in the mail and it’s a dress from Named Patterns. I haven’t tried out their patterns, yet, either, so I’m looking forward to sewing through it this weekend. Good job on your strong entry for this weeks’ contest 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I was pretty impressed with the instructions and the quality of the design details. Can’t wait to see your dress and to hear what you think of the pattern. Have fun sewing!! 🙂

      Like

Join the conversation! :)

