Introducing Jamie, from Jamie Christina Designs

Let’s give a big welcome to another of our new sponsors – Jamie Christina Designs! Jamie’s Miz Mozelle dress was probably the most popular pattern in the Indie Pattern Month pattern swap this year – people kept buying it to send to their swap partners. (So maybe we’ll be seeing some made up as part of Indie Pattern Month? 😉

Kat caught up with Jamie to find out more about her designs and her pattern business….

JamieChristinaCircleLogo

Hi Jamie! First up, tell us all a bit about your designs. How would you describe your style/aesthetic?

I describe my pattern style as California casual. Growing up in Oceanside California inspired a sense of relaxed beach attire with a respect for classic retro designs.

Sol Hoodie pattern

Sol Hoodie pattern

How did your come up with the name for your label?

The company is my actual name. To me, this means that each pattern represents my heart and soul. It’s personally why I don’t mass-produce patterns. Similar to art, every Jamie Christina pattern that is on market is a creative expression of what I hold dear to me.

We’d love to know the story behind your business. What inspired you to create and sell patterns? How did it all start?

I used to design and sell aprons. Occasionally, customers would ask me if I also sold the pattern. As time went on, the requests came in more frequently. Finally, I decided to create a pattern for the Pretty Ditty Apron. To my surprise, I discovered that I enjoyed the pattern design process all the more! Preparing a pattern for market requires a variety of hats to be worn. The creative process energized me so much so that I left the apron business and opened up Jamie Christina Designs.

Pretty Ditty apron pattern

Pretty Ditty apron pattern

And looking forwards, where would you like your business to be in five years time?

Most importantly, in five years I want to still be creating designs that I’m passionate about. What’s more, I would like to collaborate and work with other like-minded designers in developing the business with more designs that inspire others to create. I often find myself with more ideas than time, so the idea of working with other creative people would be fantastic!

Where do you do all your work?

I have the blessing of working from home, which provides me the opportunity to be there for my three kids.

Jamie's sewing space

Jamie’s sewing space

Jamie's sewing space

Jamie’s sewing space

What’s your favourite part of releasing a new design?

My favorite part of releasing a new pattern is when those who purchased it send me pictures of their finished product. It’s my hope that each pattern design will serve as a tool for the fashion enthusiast to express their creative artistry through sewing. The pictures validate that we both were able to appreciate the inspiration that led me to design the pattern in the first place.

Thinking of your gorgeous designs, what’s your favourite of all your designs so far, and why?

That’s a tough question. It’s almost like asking which of my three kids is my favorite. They all have a special place in my heart. However, in an effort to answer the question, I do have two designs that come to mind: The Abby Coat and the Mission Maxi (view C). The Abby Coat has quite a bit more technical components then my other patterns. Designing the Abby Coat was the most challenging pattern I’ve completed to date. Fortunately, this process caused me to grow as a technical designer. I love view C of the Mission Maxi for it’s confident bohemian style. It is the pattern that most represents my personal style. During summer time, I wear a Mission Maxi at least once a week. I have made so many of them. They are quick and very easy to make.

Mission Maxi pattern

Mission Maxi pattern

Who or what inspires you, either with your designs or with your business?

The style of my patterns ranges from vintage/retro to bohemian. When I begin making a sewing pattern it begins with the emerging sewer in mind. The person who doesn’t want to wear what everyone else is wearing, and also doesn’t want to spend days working on the pattern. She wants the pattern to be basic and straightforward with amazing results. What’s more, she wants to make clothes that express her uniqueness, but wants others to think that she purchased it from a clothing boutique. When people ask where she purchased her clothing, she enjoys telling them that she made it herself. It’s this artistic independence that drives my creativity and my business as a whole.

Miz Mozelle dress pattern

Miz Mozelle dress pattern

Do you have any new patterns coming out soon? Any hints you can give us?

As a matter of fact I do. These next two patterns have been in the works for some time now. The creative journey for these two patterns has been a labor of love for me, which will always remind me of a unique time in my life. Hints? Hmmm…I can say this. One is a dress and the other is a blouse.

Thank you so much for taking the time to talk to us about your business Jamie! So many gorgeous patterns – I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with next. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Introducing Jamie, from Jamie Christina Designs

Join the conversation! :)

