Sew (not) Over It

My love affair with the need for at least one of ALL indie patterns in my collection continues! I know my pattern swaps have had a tough time trying to find companies which I don’t own at least one pattern from!

So this is my first ever Sew Over It pattern, the Cowl neck dress. You like my new little number?

I got this fabric from Mel at Fabric-a-Brac at the beginning of May this year. It’s a cotton knit and there was only 165 cm by 1.25 m, which is considerably less than the 1.9 m recommended, but I decided not to worry about the direction of the fabric and there was just enough! I was determined it was going to make this dress up 🙂

The pattern is really quick and easy to put together. There are just four pieces, a front, a back and two sleeves. Most of it went together on my overlocker and the hems for the sleeves, neck and bottom were finished using the twin needle on my machine. The instructions are clear and easy to follow and have photos which I really like.

My cowl neck is not great. The pattern instructions tell you to finish the neck, but to be honest, I think the double layer ruins the way my cowl sits, I think it might have been better without finishing the front cowl my fabric doesn’t fray much and would have been fine left as is.

So my gripe is with the PDF pattern. Yes I was expecting to print 40 pages, it says that. This is not my gripe, it’s the fact that there are wasted pages, I think about four or five printed and weren’t needed. There is also no “map” of the pages and how they print. Finally the test square is separate rather than included in one of the patterns pieces.

The details
Fabric:  Cotton knit from The Curious Kiwi at Fabric-a-Brac, Wellington, May 2016
Notions:  Thread
Pattern:  Sew Over It Cowl Neck Dress, size 14, based on my measurements.
Changes made:  None
Photos here:  At the Roxy cinema in Miramar and with my mate Gandalf and along the road to Shelly Bay, Wellington.

Another one/recommendations:  I love this, I’ve got some more fabric already which is calling out to be made into another one! The fit is great and it’s quick and easy to make up. If you want a quick project, this is the one.

 

The full post with more photos can be found on my blog.

One thought on “Sew (not) Over It

Join the conversation! :)

