New to me Serendipity

Hello! It’s been quite a while since I’ve posted, and to be honest, I wasn’t planning to participate at all due to other commitments, but the stars aligned for this contest and I knew I had to come back. (You can read all the details about the project’s serendipity over at For Who It’s For.)20160606_172329-rb

This whole crazy idea came to me when I started seeing the Purl Soho City Gym Shorts popping up everywhere. I’d never used one of their patterns before, but they were cute, and the more I saw them, the more I wanted them. As I was altering a never-worn skirt I made last year, I realized I had an extra yard (+ scraps) of the same fabric (picked up for a song at Wal-Mart), and that it was so soft that these shorts would be perfect.

20160606_172548-rb

Then I figured…heck, why not make a whole PJ set? I’d wanted a matching one for a while, and I thought this was the perfect opportunity to kill two birds with one stone. I started looking through my patterns, and lo and behold, I discovered the Diana Cami (from the now-defunct Spit Up & Stilletos), which I’d printed ages ago but never put together. It seemed like a match made in heaven, with patterns from TWO new-to-me pattern companies!

20160606_172253-rb

I had about a day and a half to sew these up, which didn’t leave much time to run to the fabric store for the perfect shade of blue bias tape…but I did have a nice contrasting red that ended up working as a great (in my humble opinion) design feature! To tie it all together, I used that same red for the straps on the cami. I also knew I wanted to make use of the border print for the top, and I think it turned out pretty well!

20160606_172145-rb

For the Diana Cami, I made a straight XL. I was worried it would be too big, but I think for a PJ set in this fabric, it was just right. If I make another to wear out of the house, I might size down to a L, though. For the shorts, I went with an XL at the waist and graded down to a L at the hips, which I think worked really well. The instructions were good and these both came together within a couple of hours. Despite the rush to get it done, I don’t regret a thing, and am looking forward to getting back home so I can make more!

5 thoughts on “New to me Serendipity

Join the conversation! :)

