Olivia Wrap Dress

wrap dress 006

 

  • Since this is the New to You Challenge I decided to go with one of the patterns from the Chill Out Capsule and since it’s winter here the Olivia Wrap Dress appealed.  I don’t have a wrap dress at the moment and I had the perfect fabric in my stash, so that was another point in its favour.
  • The fabric was some merino/nylon from Levana Textiles bought off Trademe and in a perfect colour for me.
  • The pattern was mostly good, the fit is good for me with no adjustments but I would do the pockets differently in future.  They are inset after the side seams are sewn, normally I put them in before that and the result would have been much smoother that way.  I stuffed up a little and cut the fronts out with the wrong side of the fabric so had to change which side the dress fastens to fix that as I didn’t have enough fabric to recut.  I also changed how the elastic in the waist was sewn in and just sewed it over the seam and through the dress rather than attaching it to the seam allowance; what can I say, I’m lazy and I figured it’ll be covered by the ties anyway.  Finally I made the opening for the ties smaller after seeing comments about that being too large on Pattern Review.
  • I’m actually surprised at just how much I like this now that I’ve finished it and I think it’s going to be a staple in my winter wardrobe.  It fits well and is flattering too.  I want to wear it with my Caterpillar boots for some reason, and if it gets super cold I’ll wear a shawl to fill in the neckline.
  • My blog is Warming Crafts and will shortly have more details on this dress; I did this blogpost first though!

wrap20dress20007_zpsmiwwil0f

10 thoughts on “Olivia Wrap Dress

    • Thank you! I suspect there’s a bit of wanting to avoid how the Big Four do things, but sometimes there’s a good reason for the way they do them and in the case of side seam pockets…
      If I make it again I’ll definitely do the pockets the old fashioned way, but at least now I know the other way doesn’t work well rather than simply making that assumption.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Kat, I’m surprised it’s the first make from the capsule, there were several things I wanted to make (why I bought the whole thing) but I only have time for one at the moment as I need to get some weaving done and there’s another dress WIP sitting in the pile as well.
      There might also be some spinning to be done (hence the wheel).

      Like

Join the conversation! :)

