One pattern two ways – sisters edition

This is me and my little sister (and her even littler photobomber). For this challenge I made an SBCC Mimosa blouse for each of us.

It’s a super great pattern, a pull-over blouse with raglan sleeves and a front tie.

Turns out, the shopping and sewing were the easy parts. The photos were trickier since we live in different countries (me in NZ, her in Australia). So we had a virtual trip to the park…

Followed by a chat on the corner…

Check out that Wellington hair! It was definitely time to freshen up…

Before a well-earned cup of tea.

Why would 2,325km stand in the way of a good sisterly catch-up?

Now, more details about the pattern:

It’s a lovely one for a voile or light cotton (which I used), and I’m sure it would work well in something drapier too. I made two adjustments: firstly, I changed the sleeve to a two-piece one, with a seam along the shoulder. The original has a dart there, and try as I might I couldn’t get it to sit properly, there was always a bump at the end of the dart. Here’s the seam instead:

Secondly, I shaped the hem up at the sides, so it looks a little nicer untucked.  Some people who have made this have inserted a back facing (there’s already a front one), but I had no trouble using bias tape as directed.

Thanks SBCC! We had a lot of fun with this challenge.

15 thoughts on “One pattern two ways – sisters edition

  1. Pingback: And the One Pattern, Two Ways contest winners are…. | The Monthly Stitch

Join the conversation! :)

