Introducing Oki from Oki-Style Pattern

New to sponsoring Indie Pattern Month this year is Oki-Style Pattern. We love the Oki’s  bold sculptural aesthetic, her patterns push the boundaries of experimental to create beautiful and unique silhouettes.

Mel caught up with Oki, the designer behind Oki-Style Pattern, to learn more…

Hi Oki! Welcome to Indie Pattern Month!
First up, tell us all a bit about your designs. How would you describe your style/aesthetic?

To put it shortly: experimental and alternative.

How did your come up with the name for your label?

Oki is my nickname as you know. I did not really know which name to pick. Okistyle was suggested by friends. So I have a custom-made name – which means it really was given to
me:-)

We’d love to know the story behind your business. What inspired you to create and sell patterns? How did it all start?

I come from Mongolia. A lot of people there still sew their own clothes and I learned sewing from my mother as child.

A few years ago I bought a sewing machine in Germany. As a student I had no money and still always wanted well fitting dresses. Also it was not easy to find a pattern that I was enthusiastic about. That is why i visited pattern making courses and tried to construct everything on my own. In retrospect, that was the beginning of my business.

Looking forwards, where would you like your business to be in five years time?

I am a very lively person. I like to travel all over the world, to experience different cultures, people and landscapes. My dream for the time to come is simply to have success with my
work and able to combine it with traveling. That way could connect to other creative people all over the globe, sharing experiences and knowledge with each other.

Where do you do all your work? We’d love to have a sneak peek at your workspace!

I live and currently work in Germany, Frankfurt city.

What’s your favourite part of releasing a new design?

I love to see my sewing friends realize my designs in many different ways. It is even more exciting for me if they change my patterns and create completely new designs 🙂

Thinking of your gorgeous designs, what’s your favourite of all your designs so far, and why?

I feel like I just started, so I don’t have any favorites.

Who or what inspires you with your designs?

Fun inspires me the most. Doing everything with fun!

To be creative is a great source of life energy. I like to sew slowly and almost meditating, a blissful work. Sewing gives me a sense of freedom.

Also I notice a lot of new impulses in the DIY culture. That is great for people like me who like to experiment with fashion.

5 thoughts on “Introducing Oki from Oki-Style Pattern

  1. Wow, I love these patterns! So unique and it’s obvious Oki approaches her designs with fun in mind. Can’t wait to give one a try.

    Like

  2. I have bought some Okistyle patterns and really love her innovative clothes .She is one of the few adventurous independent pattern designers making genuinely original designs instead of regurgitating same old, same old…..Thank you Oki and may you flourish!

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

