Paprika Patterns Onyx Dress Hack

Having made Paprika Patterns Onyx Shirt twice before (previous versions 1 and 2), I thought it would be a good candidate for a dress hack.

Paprika Patterns Onyx Dress Hack

The Onyx is a woven slightly-boxy tee, with short sleeves. There’s also a sleeve add-on pack available, and for this version I used the full length sleeve from the pack.

Paprika Patterns Onyx Dress Hack

To create a dress variation, I just extended the front and back pieces from the bottom of the pattern pieces down to the edge of my fabric, making sure to allow enough ease at the hips.

Paprika Patterns Onyx Dress Hack

The fabric I used is lacy and not very strong, so to reinforce it (and for the purposes of decency) I also cut the front and back pieces in lining fabric. I constructed the lining separately and then attached it to the main fabric at the neckline. I left the sleeves unlined to make the lace effect more visible.

Paprika Patterns Onyx Dress Hack

As the lace fabric doesn’t fray I left the sleeve and hem edges unfinished.

Paprika Patterns Onyx Dress Hack

You can find me on my blog English Girl at Home.

3 thoughts on “Paprika Patterns Onyx Dress Hack

Join the conversation! :)

