Copying Kowtow

This RTW copycat challenge was great fun.  I “shopped” my favorite designers mulling over what to make.  I discovered that most of the things I would love to buy were shapes that I could easily make, they only thing that made them special to the designer/brand was often the fabric.
Untitled
I decided to try this dress and pants combo from Kowtow.  I searched for a pattern I could modify to get this shape, then I realised I already had one!  The Sway Dress from Papercut Patterns was perfect.  It has a V-neck and a round neck that is reversible and a nice swingy skirt.  I just needed some kimono sleeves, I looked at some pics on my Instagram and found that I owned the perfect shirt for that too, The Sutton Blouse by True Bias.

Untitled I did a little tracing, then laid both patterns on top of each other and cut!  I added a placket to the round neck edge and finished all the neckline with a bias strip.

Untitled

The fabric for the dress is from Drapers Fabrics.  Its a divine silk blend with a waffle texture.

For the pants I used the Designer Stitch Alyse Pant.  This pattern has the perfect waist for me but I’m still trying to get that perfect slim leg with a not too tight ankle.  The fabric is also from Drapers, its a lovely stretchy unknown composition remnant bargain that was perfect for this kind of pant.

Untitled

I also had a go at this outfit.  I wasn’t that happy with my cardi, so I tried again in black.

UntitledUntitled

The Pants are Anima Pants by Papercut Patterns and the Tee is The Blanc Tee by Blank Slate patterns (and its free in her facebook group).   Both these fabrics were awesome bargains from Nick’s Fabrics.
Untitled
If you count all the Anima shorts I’ve made, I’ve used this pattern about 10 times!  Definitely a TnT.  The Blanc Tee is awesomely simple but I find the neckline very lovely so I’ll be making it again.

Untitled

My cardis are a modified Nina Cardi by Style Arc, but I’m thinking I really need to invest in the Harper Cardi, to get the perfect waterfall neck.  The stripey ponte is from spotlight and the Black is a Merino blend knit from Nick’s (same as the pants).

Untitled

Happy Stitching.

 

8 thoughts on “Copying Kowtow

Join the conversation! :)

