It’s a spot, it’s a stripe, it’s a … spottystripe?

So if the spots are square, and in lines, does that mean I hit both spots AND stripes?? I’m gonna say yes!

Challenge Theme: Spots & Stripes (but I also used an Indie pattern, to make up for my total lack of IPM input during the entire month of June)
Pattern used: Liola Patterns “Zoe” Raglan. I’ve made this pattern so many times now, I just love it – so quick & easy to whip up, and I can easily make changes on the fly like I did here.
Fabric: Textured jersey
Notions: None, just thread
Did you make any pattern alterations or design changes? Removed the pleats in the upper sleeve; changed the curved hem to a straight hem; and finished the sleeves & hem with bands.
Total price: The fabric was from a cheap fabric consignment shop, $8/m, and I only needed the one metre.

Having totally missed IPM 2016, despite the best of intentions, I had barely set foot in my sewing room for the entire month. The 30th of June rolled around and my Jenna Cardigan was still pinned to its pattern pieces (albiet nicely stored in a giant ziplock back).

Suffering terribly from sewing withdrawal, I hit the fabric store and found this nice thick knit fabric with an interesting textured motif. Being the middle of winter here in Sydney, I was on the lookout for warmer fabrics I could whip into long-sleeved tops for my casual workplace.

DSCF9699

Lo and behold, another Zoe Raglan was made! I wanted something along the lines of the boxy sweaters that are currently on trend for winter, so I straightened the curved hem, made it a little shorter and used bands to finish the sleeves & lower edges.

DSCF9701

I lined up the squares – sort of – at the cuffs & hem band, but didn’t manage so well at the sleeve seams.

DSCF9702

Still, I think the result is quite striking and I’m hoping to get a lot of wear out of this sweater.

Congratulations to all who participated in IPM 2016 – what an amazing crop of creations!! I could barely keep up with reading the posts and looking at all the fabulous makes.

 

4 thoughts on “It’s a spot, it’s a stripe, it’s a … spottystripe?

Join the conversation! :)

