Stripes and Spots. French Dart Shift.

My fabric, a lovely mid weight slubby striped linen from a visit to the Truro Fabrics retail shop. We were on our way on holiday and OH agreed that he would stop in Truro as long as I didn’t take longer than a 1hr car parking ticket. So much fabric choice……So little time….

img_4843

I had already decided that I wanted to make The Maven Patterns French Dart Shift Dress  I really liked the collar and thought that this fabric would be a good choice for it.

The pattern is, on the face of it, pretty straightforward. There aren’t that many pattern pieces and the instructions are very clear. HOWEVER, getting the front darts to sit anywhere near where they should was extremely difficult, maybe I am a funny shape but it took me six goes to get them to a place where I was reasonably happy. The back darts give a good shape to the back and those darts were fine. The sleeves went in beautifully and the collar construction means that the finishing is very neat and tidy inside.

I’ve now got a dress that I can wear in the summer and will wear with boots in the winter. I’ve already worn it to work a couple of times and it’s very comfortable.

img_4840                     img_4841

Stripes AND spots did you say ? Ha ! The hem and sleeves are finished with spotty bias tape ! Go me !

img_4727

7 thoughts on “Stripes and Spots. French Dart Shift.

  1. Lovely dress! I’ve not heard of this pattern before but i have been to Truro fabrics. Only an hour….but better than nothing. It’s a couple of years since I was last down there.

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

