Coincidental Stripes

Quite by coincidence I stumbled upon the Monthly Stitch and its monthly challenges. I was on a quest to discover new patterns and indulge in a summer of selfish sewing. I am a newbie to the wonderful world of sewing and the growing collection of indie pattern designers but had already committed to participate in the August Monthly Stitch challenge.

 

However, I had also committed to attending a relative’s wedding and had decided that my four month old needed a button-up shirt (sewn by me of course!) My search in the indie pattern world was rewarded with a button-up shirt pattern by Peek-a-boo Pattern Shop.

 

The pattern provided multiple styling options which is always a bonus. The shirt could be short-sleeved, long -sleeved or convertible with a button tab and is sized from 3 months to twelve years. Since it’s going to be an outdoor wedding, and given the tropical climate, I opted for the short-sleeved version (perhaps with a bow tie).

Front view of completed shirt. A bow tie would be a cute addition.

Front view of completed shirt. A bow tie would be a cute addition.

 

I used a seersucker fabric that I had ordered online. I thought that the blue vertical stripes and the lightweight and summery feel would be perfect for little one.

 

Upon retiring to bed after a nightly sewing session(it’s the only time I get a break from little one), and as I was nearing completion of this project, it occurred to me that this would be the perfect submission for the Spots and Stripes July sewing challenge. (Eureka!) In addition to the stripes, the natural puckering of the fabric gives it the illusion of having little white dots.

In the construction phase. The dimpled texture of the fabric gives it a spotty appearance too.

In the construction phase. The dimpled texture of the fabric gives it a spotty appearance too.

Don’t you agree?

Back view of completed button up shirt. Photographing a cranky baby. . . now that's a challenge!

Back view of completed button up shirt. Photographing a cranky baby. . . now that’s a challenge!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Coincidental Stripes

  1. I recently tried that pattern out myself, for my son’s first birthday. I was very pleased, and am already plotting to make him another before the year is over! Your son looks adorable in his new shirt.

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

