triple tank

Triple Tank

mixed media tank

I love combining different fabrics and techniques when I sew, so when I saw that the challenge this month is “Triple Trouble”, celebrating the number 3 in honor of The Monthly Stitch’s birthday, I knew that this lace mixed media tank that I made recently would fit the bill perfectly.

mixed media tank

Patterns X3

  1. The tank portion is the Greenwood Tank from Straight Stitch Designs.
  2. I used my very loved, very hacked version of Jalie 2921 to refine the fit of the Greenwood.  The armscyes on that pattern are too large for me, which is a common problem I have with tank top patterns.  To fix it, I simply overlaid the two patterns and used the Jalie for the shoulder location and angle as well as the shape and size of the armscye.
  3. The 3rd pattern I used is the high/low peplum from the Marigold Top.  I used this pattern before last year to make this version with a gold linen yoke.  I added a CF placket on the peplum to make it look like I had cut the peplum from a button down shirt.

Fabrics X3

  1. The peplum uses some voile leftover from my version of Sew House Seven’s Mississippi Ave Dress.  I also used the voile to make bias tape to bind the neckline and armholes instead of a knit ribbing.
  2. The body of the tank is a green knit cut from an old tee.  I had always liked the color of this top, but it was too big and had some weird poofery decorating the arms, so I never wore it.
  3. The sides of the tank incorporate some crochet lace.
  4. triple tank

Techniques X3

  1. Pattern hacking–adding the CF placket, and combining patterns
  2. Applique–to sew on the lace
  3. Refashioning–revitalizing an unworn t-shirt to give it new life

I’ve been living in this tank for the past several weeks.  It’s been a great summer top, and all the mixed textures of the fabrics make this feel dressier than a typical minimalist beat-the-heat kind of tank.

For more details on this project and many others, visit my blog at Elizabeth Made This.

5 thoughts on “Triple Tank

Join the conversation! :)

