Happy Birthday TMS

In honor of your 3rd birthday I’ve created a 3 piece look: cropped blazer, paper bag waisted shorts, and a self-drafted matching clutch.

summer 14

The blazer is from Mimi G’s simplicity pattern line and it is Simplicity 8093. It’s a great jacket pattern — super fast and easy. Mimi has her own youtube channel with step-by-step tutorials for all of her patterns so it’s a breeze making this jacket. Best part? No hand-stitching required! I lined the jacket with a lime green polyester from Joann’s.

summer 9

The shorts are from BurdaStyle magazine, June 2015. They’re meant to be oversized and cinched at the waist with a belt, creating a paper bag effect at the waist.

summer 12

summer 13

And the clutch is self-drafted using only one pattern piece. I created closures using my Dritz snap fasteners pliers.

summer 4

IMG_3627

Have a very happy birthday TMS and may you carry on for many more years!

For more detailed information on the construction of this and other projects, please visit my blog at See Carmen Sew.

12 thoughts on “Happy Birthday TMS

  1. I love this, especially the jacket! How did you find the sizing for the jacket? I’ve had some sizing duds with Simplicity in the past, but yours makes me think I should try this!

    Like

  2. oh wow this is such a cool outfit! That fabric is so gorgeous! and I love the lining you chose for the jacket too. thanks also for giving me the idea of wearing my cropped Victoria blazer with the new shorts I’ve made!

    Like

  3. I love it! I’ll definitely have to check out Mimi G as well. If you have a moment check out my new blog where I post about my fashion inspiration, thrifting, and Diy posts. I’ll probably be using a Mimi G pattern or two lol

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

