My first bra – the Boylston

I recently went the to V&A’s exhibition Undressed: a brief history of underwear  which was amazing and so motivating. There was a great quote from some president of an underwear company in which he compared the engineering, time, skill and effort required to create a bra to that required to build a steel and concrete bridge. Having just completed my first ever bra, the Boylston bra from Orange lingerie, I concur.

I’ve wanted to make my own bras for ages now and been inspired by so many people’s blogs on the topic. Plus it was my number one New Year’s Resolution. I decided to buy a bra kit as there were so many notion and things and got a really pretty one from thebrashop on etsy (plus Alison who owns the shop was really helpful adding things to the kit which the Boylston required). It was perhaps the most challenging thing I’ve ever sewn but luckily I’ve had the house to myself all weekend so could concentrate without distractions. If you’re interested in all the trials and tribulations, or want to see some more picutres, you can check our my post on my blog thimble&threads.

I’m immensely proud of my bra and cant wait to start another.

 

 

6 thoughts on “My first bra – the Boylston

Join the conversation! :)

