Burda / McCall’s shirtdress mashup

Hi, y’all! This is my first post on The Monthly Stitch and I’m happy to be part of such a rad online sewing community. I sew a lot of dresses, so Frocktober is the perfect challenge for me!

BurdaMcCallsShirtdress8

I’ve been in awe of the many beautiful iterations of McCalls 6696 online – it is one of those patterns which seems to flatter every body. Unfortunately, I couldn’t get a good fit with the bodice, so turned to my trusty Burda for a bodice base. I used Burda Silk Blouse 04/2011 #105 for the bodice, cropping it at the waist and making some slight alterations for style and to fit the dimensions of M6696. The skirt and cuffs are from M6696.

BurdaMcCallsShirtdress20

I went into the nitty gritty of how I adapted the patterns on my blog, but suffice to say I’m thrilled with the results. The fabric is an old doona cover from the op shop, and I love how it adds a 50s vintage feel to the dress.

Thanks for having me and I look forward to the next challenge!
BurdaMcCallsShirtdressOther1

Read more at Chronically Siobhan.

10 thoughts on “Burda / McCall’s shirtdress mashup

    • Yes I was very happy that day! A friend was taking photos and we were having a great time. My shoes are Mel by Melissa – I think they may have discontinued the brand now, but I scored them for $10 on eBay as they were slightly marked.

      Like

Join the conversation! :)

