First frock for Frocktober

I only noticed this pattern earlier in the year as a new release from simplicity new look as NL6431.  Probably when it was change of season to the warmer months in US, which means they don’t come out in Aus for ages (groan).  Then I tried to order it with another pattern from sewingpatterns.com – I’ve always had reasonable service and postage from them in the past but the patterns never turned up, they didn’t reply to any of my emails and I put in a paypal dispute.  I was refunded, but still without any contact from the company (groan again).

img_1965

Then I saw NL6184 in someone’s collection and realised it was the same pattern.  It was in stock at Lincraft or Spotlight, can’t remember which and I see it is now out of print.  I can understand that they may have wanted to update the pattern envelope, althought I don’t think they are really that different.  I don’t know what is behind the reasoning of changing the pattern number.  Do you prefer one over the other?

The rest of the story is straight forward from there, the muslin fit me with only one adjustment – I took out over an inch at the top of the zip, tapering down to nothing towards the waist.  This is not too unusual for me.

img_1969

I picked a jungly printed calico, recently acquired from a community endeavour called the Nest Haberdashery.  They take donations of fabric, patterns and craft items for resale, with the proceeds going back into supporting their workshops, events and support services.  The printed calico ‘handmade’ tag was a gift from a friend and the perfect finishing touch.img_1957

I do like that pleated neckline.   I’ve earmarked a vintage sheet for another version but I will need to decide if I will remake the same version or try view C with the lower neckline.  I posted a pic of this on instagram for Tessuti’s #sewasundressinseptember, but now I’m finding time to blog it and it’s October already.  It’s Frocktober at the monthly stitch and I am also participating in another Frocktober – raising awareness and funds for the ovarian cancer research foundation.  I wore this dress to the first event I hosted, a ‘frock and frolic’ with some Brisbane Spoolettes – it rained on us!

IMG_1988.jpg

I hope to continue in the spirit of things and sew another dress or two this month ;o)

Project summary

pattern:  New Look 6184 (now New Look 6431)

fabric:  printed calico from the Nest Community Haberdashery

notions: vizzy invisible zip, handmade label from a friend

15 thoughts on “First frock for Frocktober

  1. Something about the pastel tones of the newer pattern envelope appeals to me. It almost looks as though they’ve tried to give it a more vintage look. Either way, it’s a lovely pattern and it looks fantastic on you. That’s a great choice of fabric for the dress – it’s a lovely floral and it works well with the pleated neckline detail.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh, cute! I love the pleated neckline, I’ve been seeing a lot of them pop up on Pinterest, but as I’m still feeding my bubba I’m not letting myself sew anything that’s not ‘easily accessible’. But this pattern might go on my wish list! Well done, it looks great!

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation! :)

