Print and Lace Dress

This dress has allowed me to try lots of new techniques in one make. (hooray) as a result my original post was a bit of a long one. The dress is New Look K 6723 using view A, the boat neck line.

I’ve made it in a beautiful ivory and pink floral, rayon dress fabric. I’ve really mixed a few new techniques in this one and I’m really proud of the final result.

sam_2605_kindlephoto-250772128

Firstly, this has a lined bodice, the pattern comes with instructions but I also used this tutorial from Dreaming of Avonlea as a point of reference. It is all about lining the bodice, it looks super neat.

sam_2607

Lining is hard to photograph when it’s such a busy print!

As I cut the pattern I duplicated the front, side panels in this really cool leaf lace and tacked the two pieces together before sewing the pattern together as normal. I feel it adds a bit extra to the dress, which is what me-made is all about!

sam_2606_kindlephoto-248065147

I inserted a 3/4 length sleeve. I stumbled here a bit because the dress has a boat neck line; I struggled to see whether the sleeves were badly fitted of whether the neck line was just wide.

I added buttons instead of a zip at the back, making a separate placket, which I did by measuring the length and using the tie pattern for the width.

SAM_2613_kindlephoto-248038509.jpg

I then french seamed the skirt pieces together, gathered it and attached it to the bodice. I made the tie for round the dress, which I over-stitched. The tie was no where near long enough to tie round me so I added some Velcro instead so I could fasten it. I also added some small belt hoops to the front to keep it in place.

I think this covers all the construction of this dress. I think it’s really pretty, I just need a wedding or something to go to now… I maybe need to master making things that are seasonally appropriate rather than just because I feel like it, I was a tiny bit chilly doing my photos!

received_10153907471836200_kindlephoto-254337519received_10153907471816200_kindlephoto-254365827

received_10153907471466200_kindlephoto-250876612

 

12 thoughts on “Print and Lace Dress

  1. I like your choice of fabric, very feminine. I actually have this pattern, but I’m yet to sew it. It’s nice to see a live example. I expected the skirt to be fuller though.

    Like

    • Thanks so much! It’s a nice pattern to work with, I didn’t have to make any changes really, though I would recommend cutting the tie much longer if you actually wanted it to tie! I’m sure you could increase the skirt pattern and add more gathers if you wanted it to be fuller?

      Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation! :)

