Sunday Set for Autumn Days

Me again, I’ve been getting some quality sewing time in for my holidays, so here is a latest offering! I had some blue denim coloured chambray, which I intended to use for a shirt for my brother, I wasn’t getting round to it so I promptly began using it for something for myself (selfish, I know, please don’t judge me!) I have used View A of the Cotton and Chalk dungaree design pattern.

As I was using a plain fabric I wanted to jazz it up a bit; there’s lots of top stitching on this one and it needed buttons so I thought to use colour for this would be perfect. As I was making it, I was thinking, this looks AMAZING! Now it’s made, I feel like it does look slightly minion-esque… hence the name of my blog post. Though I am pleased with the construction and I still definitely intend to wear it with pride!

sam_2655

I made no changes to the pattern at all, even the straps were a perfect fit. I practised some very neat yellow top-stitching. (Go me!)

 

Inserted the zip, which was pretty much the first step, something I haven’t seen before. I inserted some really cute pockets with the fabric left over from another make. They look so cute!

sam_2678

I also hemmed the bottom of the dress in this fabric, just because I like extra details like that so much!

sam_2677

I chose some stand out buttons and did button holes in the yellow thread to go with the top-stitching; a bit of a risk when I’ve only just mastered button holes! The only other thing I did differently was to do little bar tabs at the top of the pockets so it doesn’t wear over time.

sam_2681

The construction of this was super easy and it makes a good wardrobe essential, if you see the pattern about I would definitely grab yourselves one.

We visited Hatherslaw light railway on our holidays and spent some time looking for ‘Scarycrows’ in Etal and also took a few pictures from the gorgeous roof terrace. We’ve had some beautiful autumn weather.

sunday-set-etal-castle

 

sunday-set-canon2

sam_2685

sunday-set

sunday-set-terrace

For more pictures and information please see my Accidental Minion Dress post on my blog.

 

6 thoughts on “Sunday Set for Autumn Days

  1. Looks great. I have a denim dress dungarees on my sewing table at the moment… Getting ready to cut into it this afternoon. My husband is dubious about the idea of an adult wearing dungarees but I keep reassuring him it’s the in thing at the moment!!

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

