Fall Florals

I actually completed a challenge! For Frocktober, I made the Verity dress by Moxie patterns. The designer contacted me to help them test for their new size range and I jumped at the chance. The pattern now goes up to a size 8X or 57.5 bust.

verity-dress

I found this lovely soft cotton/rayon knit at a local store. It’s medium weight with a quilting texture and is super soft. It was a bit more that I was looking to spend for a pattern test, but it was definitely the right choice for the dress.

Verity Dress by Moxie Patterns

The pattern includes three different sleeve lengths, as well as sleeveless options, shirt versions and a dress version. The sleeves are puffed and have bands. You can also make it with various neckline options: band, cowl, split cowl like the ModCloth dress, and the new peter pan collar version. There is gathering under the bust, a waistband, gathering at center back, and a circle skirt.

Verity Dress by Moxie Patterns

For my test version, I chose to make the dress with elbow length sleeves and a split cowl neckline. You will notice in the pictures that the sleeves are not puff sleeves or elbow length (in the picture of my back, the sleeves are bunched up slightly to the elbow; they are readjusted for other pictures). The issue with puffed sleeves has been resolved in the final pattern, I am told. The pattern is drafted with a 5’6″ height in mind a bit taller than my 5’4″ self.

20161025_162748

I really enjoyed making the dress. I made it in one evening including cutting using my serger for the most part. I used my machine for stitching the collar with a lightening bolt stitch. I just serged the hem.

Verity Dress by Moxie Patterns

In terms of fit, it’s pretty good. I actually am between a 5X and a 6X in this pattern. The extended sizes go up to 8X or a 57.5 inch bust. I settled on making a 6X. Looking at the fit of this, I’d definitely size down next time since I have no negative ease in the bust and have a bit of positive ease in certain places. I was very impressed with how the shoulder fit on the dress. I didn’t need to narrow the shoulder at all!!! I usually narrow the shoulder by about 1-2 inches on any pattern I use. The only adjustment I made was to cut the length for 3X instead of 6X, because I was pretty sure I would need to shorten it. Even with that, it ended up longer than the above the knee length of the pattern photos.

Verity Dress by Moxie Patterns

Anyone else get Western vibes from my dress?😀 Do-si-do! The dress is perfect for Frocktober in Canada.

Verity Dress by Moxie Patterns

3 thoughts on “Fall Florals

Join the conversation! :)

