A Sweater Dress for Frocktober

img_9604Hi All! Monthly Stitch’s Froctober challenge comes at the perfect time of year to create something using a sweater knit. And let me tell you, I am such a fan of this fabric. It’s cozy, comfortable, and easy to sew.

My pattern for this make is McCall’s 7430, a pattern destined for tried and true status in my stash. I used a moderate stretch knit with a bit of texture.

I can’t wait to make another version (or two) with solid knits, maybe a bit of color blocking too!

To pump up the ‘cozy’ factor I added pockets to keep those pinkies warm on cold days.

I love seeing everyone’s frocks this month…so much inspiration…if only I had more time to sew! For more of mine, visit Ellegeemakes.com.

Thanks for taking a look, and Happy Froctober!

6 thoughts on “A Sweater Dress for Frocktober

  1. For cute! Your fabric comob works perfectly together. I noticed this pattern when it came out, but I think the fabric choice on the envelope and turtleneck threw me off. It looks a bit dated. Seriously, who is their stylist?! But your version is making me reconsider. Your version is very modern and chic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! The fabric is so great to wear too! I didn’t think much of the envelope photo either, but picked up the pattern because of the yoke and sleeve caps, perfect details for sweater knits that are missing on many other patterns.

      Like

Join the conversation! :)

