Retro Frocking

img_2098I had high hopes of getting this pattern sewn earlier in the year when the Big Vintage sew-along was still running!  It was one of the patterns included in the sewalong – a retro Butterick pattern, a reprint from 1960.  Loads of people have sewn this up and you can see quite a few on pattern review, it seems to have been reprinted over 10 years ago.

b6582_03

 I found this bodice a bit difficult to fit and adjust for me and it took a few toiles before I decided to move on while it was good enough.  That neckline comes up really quite high, nothing like what is shown on the real life model on the Butterick web site!  When I toyed with the height of the neckline I couldn’t seem to keep the join (faux crossover) in the middle.  I love that full skirt, but wanted to use a cotton poplin – recently stashed from Spotlight.  Due to yardage restraints I opted for the skirt from the lisette round trip dress (simplicity 1419).

img_2104

The other change I made was a fully lined bodice.  It seemed like an easier choice than redrafting the facings.  I just made a second bodice out of lightweight cotton lawn and used the ‘burrito’ method to sew the arm holes after my neckline was done.

img_2106

I often use rayon seam bindings on my hems but I decided that vintage lace hem tape was appropriate for a reproduction vintage pattern – so pretty!

img_2136

I honestly thought I would get one or even two more frocks made this month, but it was so busy I didn’t quite get there!  This frock debuted at the Brisbane Spoolettes annual Frocktails event.  Such a wonderful night with so many fabulous frocks ;o)  Here I am handing out some lucky door prizes with offsider Liz from Busy Lizzy in Brizzy and the lovely Katie from The Fabric Store:

frocktails

Project summary

pattern:  Butterick 6582 

fabric:  printed poplin from Spotlight

notions: vizzy invisible zip, vintage lace hem tape from Busy Beaver Boutique on Etsy

inspirations: This sweet version by Amy of Almond Rock 

4 thoughts on “Retro Frocking

Join the conversation! :)

