The Right Pair of Shoes

fullsizeoutput_24a0What Pattern did you use? I used  Patterns by Gertie for Butterick  _ 5953. It is a fitted vintage inspired wrap dress with front bands, and a slightly shaped right front. The left front crosses underneath the right and ties to the side seam. There is a button closure on the right front side. The sleeves can be long or just above the elbow. There is also a godet in the back.fullsizeoutput_24a3What fabric did you use? Why did you choose it? I used a solid turquoise linen fabric, and a coordinating tone on tone cotton fabric.  I used the cotton fabric for the row of buttons on the side front, the front bands, and the godet in the back. I loved the color of view B on the pattern envelope so I used that for my inspiration, and the shorter sleeves on view A which are a better fit for my lifestyle and climate. fullsizeoutput_2493Would you recommend the pattern? Would you change anything next time?  I recommend the pattern because it is an easy construction with good step by step instructions. The added details: covered buttons, front bands, and godet make it look more couture. It does have a low-cut neckline, that can be somewhat revealing. I used a bit of fashion tape to keep the dress from gaping open too much. I got a thumbs up from my hubby, so you might see me in it! The only thing I would change is an adjustment to the depth of the neckline if I were to make it again. I don’t think I will though, one dress like this is enough.fullsizeoutput_2498Any interesting details? The pattern called for 1 inch buttons. I purchased 7/8 inch buttons that you cover. I used the same fabric for the buttons, front bands, and godet. It looks really pretty and totally unique.fullsizeoutput_2496What do you think of your finished garment? I’m very pleased with the fit and style, and I love all of the unique details such as the covered buttons and the godet in the back. I chose it because it is different than what I usually sew for myself. It was fun to make, and the result was exceptional! fullsizeoutput_2490First worn? I modeled it for pictures in front our lovely Fall maple tree. Of course I had to wear the right shoes! They go so well with my dress too. I’ve actually never worn them before, because I didn’t have anything to wear them with. Lucky me!

Visit more of my sewing adventures at Zibergirl.com

Happy Sewing!

Signature

5 thoughts on “The Right Pair of Shoes

Join the conversation! :)

