Unstashed Delphine skirt

image

I bought this fabulous print fabric from fabrics galore in the new year sale for £4!! I thought it was cotton suitable for a top but it’s actually cotton like denim!!
Change of plan to a more structured sewing project and cue new sewing book on my pile….love at first stitch from tilly walnes.

image

This was a quick sew (2-3 hours including cooking dinner and putting kids to bed) and I’m really pleased with the finished item.
I’m not sure I can wear it at the moment in -2 degrees but will get tonnes of wear out if it in spring and summer.

image

A couple of additional wins on this make for my sewing repertoire: invisible zip and blind hem stitching.
I have finally worked out how to use my universal zipper foot and the difference it makes to iron your zip flat.

image

I had to take the hem up 4cm to get the length I wanted and didn’t want to turn it over twice as it would be too bulky.  I had a thought that it would be great to blind stitch it and looked at my machine instructions to see if I could do that. Turns out I have had a blind hem foot all these years and never tried it.
The fit needs a little work for another one as I have lost weight but not adjusted to my new waist and hip measurement.  This is fine sitting lower on my waist but not high waisted like in the book.

9 thoughts on “Unstashed Delphine skirt

  1. I have never done a blind hem. Mind you I have yet to try an invisible zip. The skirt looks very summery. Tights sounds a good idea then you won’t need to wait so long to wear this lovely skirt.

    Like

  2. I really like the soft watercolor appearance of the fabric, what a sensational skirt pattern! I’ve yet to blind hem a garment but it does look so nice, I’m going to try it on my next project. I too recently discovered I’ve had a blind hem foot and have never used it 😁

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation! :)

