2017-01-24-07-53-09

Not (really) stashed wool jersey dress

Happy new year everyone! What a great challenge for this month – there were no gifts of fabric in my Christmas stocking but I was so lucky to be given a subscription to BurdaStyle magazine – I keep rushing to meet the postman each day in anticipation, but so far my first issue has yet to arrive!

The fabric I used this month was actually purchased a little while ago on a trip back home to Sydney, but it didn’t technically get into my stash, as it lay waiting patiently beside my sewing machine for me to get my sewing mojo back again after the arrival of Baby Veuve (now four months old!).

I used to love spending all day immersed in a project but that’s just not practical anymore – I’ve realised that I need to learn to break down a project into small chunks (20 minutes here and there during baby naps) – in order to maintain my sanity and get anything done! Another hurdle has been that, not surprisingly, my body has changed drastically in recent months – every time I measure myself something is different, which has left me wary of jumping in to a new project if I’m not sure it will fit well.

However, I am desperately tired of the limited range and poor quality options for nursing mothers available in ready-to-wear – so I went back to the lovely fabric waiting patiently at my sewing table and turned out this dress.

My not-really-stashed fabric was a royal/navy blue merino wool jersey from The Fabric Store in Sydney. This fabric is just so wonderful! It feels beautiful on the skin, is warm when it is cold and breathes when it is hot, is easy to look after (gentle machine wool wash)…and it comes in so many wonderful colours!

I had earmarked the Amber Dress from Megan Nielsen as a great option both for during my pregnancy and afterwards – the emphasis now being on the afterwards! I used the copy shop PDF file to print the pattern which was great – no more cutting and pasting hundreds of pieces of paper. A note of warning, however: the copy shop file doesn’t have a calibration square to check that the sizing is correct. The helpful staff at Megan Nielsen suggested printing off a small pattern piece (such as the midriff front) on my home printer to compare the sizes.

I cut out the size Medium, but seeing it on me now I realise I must have been in full pregnancy mode when I measured myself…because it is too big. I don’t like too much negative ease in my garments so I didn’t want the dress to be tight (I have previously found I needed to size up for Megan Nielsen patterns) and wearing a belt with this style cinches the waist in fine. Plus there is a hope that I may need a maternity dress again soon, in which case this will be perfect! If I make this dress again while nursing but not pregnant, however, I will sew the smaller size or take more out of the back sections of the pattern.

tumblr_okazffot3p1tlvacdo2_1280

Cinched in at the back with a belt…plenty of room to grow for the next bub!

The nursing modesty panel is wonderful, it sits neatly behind the cross-over midriff front without adding bulk and makes breast feeding really easy and discrete. I don’t mind lifting up a tee-shirt in public but if I’m wearing a dress that’s not an option, so having a nursing dress in my wardrobe is terrific.

tumblr_okazffot3p1tlvacdo3_1280

The nursing modesty panel doesn’t add too much bulk to the front

The pattern instructions are very straightforward and it was truly an easy pattern to break down into smaller chunks so that I could fit my sewing around nap times.

Something new I tried this time was Stitch Witchery fusible bonding web – brilliant stuff! It made stabilising the hems for double top-stitching an absolute dream.

 

tumblr_okazffot3p1tlvacdo4_1280

Stitch Witchery – my new favourite trick for hemming knits

I’m delighted with the outcome of this dress, I can see myself wearing it a lot in the coming months with my return to work!

8 thoughts on “Not (really) stashed wool jersey dress

  1. That’s a very neat looking hem. Might be time for me to try fusible webbing. Lovely dress. Looks easy to wear and useable after you finish nursing as well because I have seen several patterns recently with that kind of neckline and they are not for nursing so well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This looks great! I love the colour! I made the Megan Nielsen maternity tshirt with similar nursing panel & it was so useful. I’ll need to try out fusble tape in the hem, I keep forgetting about that tip.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s the best thing about making your own clothes – you can make precisely what you need in the colour and style you want. Because the shops never have what we want! Or if they do, it’s always in the wrong size…

    Your dress looks like a delight to wear and it sounds as though you’ll get a lot of use of out if, so that’s perfect!

    Like

Join the conversation! :)

