A New Outfit for Spring!

I’ve been sewing up a storm in January! It’s been fun and I love to sew details, adding lovely touches and finishes, having garments that are beautifully crafted, inside and out.

Deer and Doe Outfit

Deer and Doe Outfit

For last year’s black Friday sale I bought two patterns from Deer and Doe, the Mélilot shirt and the Chardon skirt. For the shirt I, in December, bought an Oxford weave and for the skirt I used a stretch cotton sateen that was bought in September (does this count as being stashed?)

Love this shirt!

Love this shirt!

Having used Deer and Doe patterns before, I knew which alterations I would need and I was hoping that this shirt would be a wearable muslin. The shirt is lengthened by 5 cm, above the dart, and I’ve added a 2 cm FBA (Love the method D&D showed in the sewalong). I love this shirt! I loved sewing it and I love wearing it! The whole shirt is sewn with French seams and it’s so pretty on the inside as well. I have a lovely white cotton sateen that will be perfect for a long sleeved version and I’m dreaming of a short sleeved one in flannel.

Great shape in the back

Great shape in the back

The skirt I sewed without any alterations, most time was spent on pattern matching the lines across the pleats. It’s not perfect, but still good in my book.

Great fit

Great fit

Now, I’m just waiting for warmer weather to hit the Northern hemisphere and I’m set in my newest outfit!

Pretty on the inside too, all seams enclosed

Pretty on the inside too, all seams enclosed

3 thoughts on “A New Outfit for Spring!

Join the conversation! :)

