img_3588

African wax print shirt dress

For Christmas, I decided to make my sister a sleep set of; pyjama bottoms, an eye mask and laundry bag.  I found some gorgeous African wax print in a shop near me and as I can’t resist a bargain, I bought the full 5.5m length.  I made all the bits and pieces for my sister and she was delighted and I still had plenty left over!  Rather than put the remainder into my stash, I decided to make a dress for me.

img_3583

I used the Sew over it, vintage shirtdress pattern.  It’s my 3rd time using this pattern and now I’ve got the fit details sorted, I can see there being many more in my life.

img_3586

I love how this turned out and I’m so glad I bought the whole length, plus I get to feel smug as there are not even any scraps left to go into the stash!

img_3588

For more photos and information about my sewing plans for the next few months please visit my blog.

13 thoughts on “African wax print shirt dress

Join the conversation! :)

