1970’s Peasant Skirt

 

Back in the 1970’s when I was about 8 I sewed my first ever skirt, it was a peasant skirt with an elastic waist, 3-tier made from a polycotton fabric and I wore it to death.

I had a pattern for something similar, Simplicity 4499 which is a yoked peasant skirt.  I had to size it up, back when I bought it size 14 seemed plenty large enough, it’s now size 18.  I’m still a 14 on top, not so much on the bottom!  The fabric was from deep stash and was chosen partly due to needing to finally use it up, not the ideal reason, but I love how bright and cheerful it is.

 

I’m not 100% happy with the pattern, even though I love a yoke on a skirt (which is why I chose it) this one goes down too far for this particular skirt, I really need to remove the tiered part and shorten the yoke to be more flattering and more comfortable.  I suspect I won’t wear it much how it is.

I changed the order of construction, saw no reason to wrestle the completed skirt to get the zipper in when I could just put it in the yoke first, also changed it to an exposed zipper instead of the lapped one the pattern used.

My blog can be found on Warming Crafts and is a mix of sewing, knitting, spinning, weaving, family and my health.

2017-02-222b08-27-22

One thought on “1970’s Peasant Skirt

Join the conversation! :)

