“Brights”

This is my entry for the “Bright” competition from “Tools by Hollie”. I was already wanting to make a top like this one when I found out about the “Tools by Hollie” challenge so I just had to make a skirt to go with my top as well.   If I was to win those lovely bright accessories I would wear them with something pretty simply and black so I made the skirt using McCall’s M6770 which is a steam punk pattern I have been wanting to make for ages and the top is self drafted and based on Burda Style 04/2012#126C.


I was dreaming of clothing in current high street shops with flared sleeves so I was already going to make a top because I really like the flared sleeves look and I wanted a wrap top so I made this pattern but added the flared sleeve.The skirt has a slight train at the back or high low hem. It is stretch satin-backed crepe which I originally bought for some posh work trousers but stole for this competition.  I reversed it to have the satin on the right side. Its nearly totally overlocked with just a zip and button on a waistband.It should have had an invisible zipper but I had a normal one and was stretched money-wise so used that. Its a bit longer than it should be as well but works. And I got to play with my automatic button-holer which was good!

The top is power mesh. It just ties at the back (or front according to the pattern).
 Again its nearly all made using an overlocker. I added the circle sleeves by drafting just as you would a circle skirt. They have a lettuce edge made using the overlocker. The neck of the top has a bias strip since I found even though its stretchy mesh, it does need to be bias to lie right and it is then twin needle stitched all round the neck edge and the two ties.

This shows the sleeve with overlocked lettuce edge

This shows the neck band and twin needle stitched hems

The inside of the top

Here you can see the hems on one of the ties 

This is the inside of the skirt

 

The skirt hem:

  

 

 Zip and waistband

Still not perfect but I am very happy with the results.  A year ago I would not have even tried to tackle this. You can read more if you wish at http://brackencrafts.blogspot.co.uk

Join the conversation! :)

