Still a child of the Seventies – Butterick 3065 Jeans

I had meant to post about this particular make back in the “Through The Decades” month back in February. The pattern I used was an Etsy buy – quite a find as it’s hard to get hold of 1970s jeans patterns. I suppose that not that many people are dedicated jeans stitchers and I’m not surprised, considering how long I took to make this. There are two views on the pattern and I picked the button-fly version for my make.

Butterick Jeans Pattern

I used a dark indigo 100% cotton denim from Sewn in Bristol. I started out with the simple satin stitch embroidery for the back pockets. This post here documents my method for producing those flowers.

Flowers on Bell bottom jeans

The construction for the jeans is a little unusual, since there is a facing rather than a waistband. I did also have to change the fit somewhat, particular the front crotch seam, which needed flattening. I’ve put more information on this post.

I’m proud that I managed to fit all those jeans buttons without drama. They weren’t particularly difficult to hammer in, but I did suffer from some trepidation, since I knew how difficult it would be to rectify any mistakes.

I could really live in these jeans. They are my number one comfort wear at the moment. I can really see myself making another pair of these, perhaps with the more standard pockets and waistband. I can thoroughly recommend seeking out a vintage jeans pattern!

 

4 thoughts on “Still a child of the Seventies – Butterick 3065 Jeans

Join the conversation! :)

